Close this search box.

Modi takes oath as Indian PM for third term

Modi takes oath as Indian PM for third term

Narendra Modi took oath of office as Prime Minister on Sunday evening at a mega event held at Presidential Palace in New Delhi.

Indian President Draupadi Murmu administered the oath of office to Modi as the National Democratic Alliance got support of 293 MPs from BJP and other alliance members.

Unlike the previous two general elections, Modi’s BJP fell short of 274 seats required for the formation of government in the just concluded Parliament Elections forcing the right wing party to hold long negotiations with other members in the alliance.

Apart from Modi, several Parliamentarians who were in the Cabinet in the last government including Amit Sha, S Jaishankar, Nirmala Sitharaman and Rajnath Singh, took oath of office. The BJP is expected to keep for itself Home, Defense, Finance and External Affairs Ministries.

Several MPs from the alliance are expected to be part of the Cabinet. At least 72 MPs are scheduled to take oath as ministers today, including 32 with cabinet ranks.

Source: Kuwait News Agency