New Egypt Gov. takes constitutional oath

The reappointed Prime Minister of Egypt Dr. Mostafa Madbouly took the constitutional oath on Wednesday in front of President Abdulfattah Al-Sisi amid governmental changes.

The President appointed the Prime Minister to form a new government after the last cabinet’s resignation, a group that would work hard on addressing economic challenges and enhancing social programs.

The swearing-in ceremony commenced with 30 ministers including Minister for Human Development Affairs, Minister of Health and Population Dr. Khaled Abdel Ghaffar as Deputy Prime Minister, followed by Minister for Industry Affairs and Minister of Transport Eng. Kamel Al-Wazir as Deputy Prime Minister.

The cabinet reshuffle saw a big change in portfolios, firstly appointing Lieutenant-General Abdulmajeed Saqr as Minister of Defense and merging the Ministries of Foreign Affairs and of Immigration and appointing Ambassador Badr Abdelatty as the Minister.

Ahmad Kouchouk was appointed as Minister of Finance, Karim Badawi as Minister of Petroleum
and Mineral Resources, Hassan Al-Khatib as Minister of Investment, Sherif Fathy as Minister of Tourism and Antiquities.

Followed by Mohammad Shimi as Minister of Public Business Sector, Counselor Adnan El Fangary as Minister of Justice, Counselor Mahmoud Fawzy as Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Political Communication, and Mohammad Gobran as Minister of Labor.

Mahmoud Esmat was appointed as Minister of Electricity, Sameh Al-Hefny as Minister of Civil Aviation, Sherif Farouk as Minister of Supply and Internal Trade, Osama Al-Azhari as Minister of Endowments, Maya Morsy as Minister of Social Solidarity.

Ahmad Hanno was also named as Minister of Culture, Mohammad Abdellatif as Minister of Education, Manal Mikhail as Minister of Local Development, Alaa Farouk as Minister of Agriculture and Land Reclamation, and Sherif Al-Sherbini as Minister of Housing, Utilities and Urban Communities.

With the following ministers being reinstated, Mahmoud Tawfiq as Minister of Interior, Ashraf Sobhy as Minister of Yout
h and Sports, Mohammad Ayman Ashour as Minister of Higher Scientific Education, Amr Talaat as Minister of Information Technology and Communications.

Rania Al-Mashat was also appointed as Minister of Planning and International Cooperation, Yasmine Fouad as Minister of Environment, Mohammad Salah Al-Din as Minister of Military Production, and Hani Sweilem as Minister of Water Resources and Irrigation.

Source: Kuwait News Agency